A Road To Fine Art ›› Molten Lake Point

A Road To Fine Art ›› Molten Lake Point

Recently I have received numerous requests across social media and different blogs asking “How did you do this?” and “Can I see your RAW file?”. In the past I have been reluctant to show this information, but it is not the past anymore! I am happy to share my RAW files and the image progressions with everyone. It is not a secret that I use the iSGM technique developed by Joel Tjintjelaar. Visit his website (http://www.bwvision.com) for step-by-step tutorials, books and architectural workshops. So here is my first image progression with some basic technical information on each step that I used to get to my vision of the building. I hope this helps answer some of the questions I have been asked and is informative to some degree to everyone. And I have to say it’s fun for me look back at where I started.

It should be emphasized that the RAW image was shot with 16 stops of ProStop IRND filters by Formatt-Hitech, http://formatt-hitech.com,  (270 seconds of exposure time) and still there is very little color cast with great detail. Why is this important? Because accurate color leads to more effective black and white conversion. Additionally, with proper color separation throughout the image, the selections process is more efficient and more accurate, all leading to a final image with strong building presence. Enjoy!

Ask me questions and I’ll answer as many as I can. Send them on! – Mabry

Fine Art Photographer - Houston - Mabry Campbell

Molten Lake Point
Fine Art Photographer - Houston - Mabry Campbell

6 thoughts on “A Road To Fine Art ›› Molten Lake Point

    • Hi Nicola,
      Not presently as an “official” tutorial, although I am working on it. In the meantime I have worked through a few images with others online in a casual setting, teaching as we go. Would be happy to work through an image with you as well. Google+ hangouts are a great way to do this. It’ll be fun…just let me know.
      -Mabry

      Like

      • Hi Mabry, sounds interesting and I might come back to you. Please send me a message as soon as you do offline workshops. I’m looking for tutorials working with photographers not necessarily on postproduction but more on shooting side by side in order to learn. Nicola

        Like

Leave a Reply

